top of page
  • Writer's pictureManique Abayasekara

Pumpkin Toffees (Wattakka Dosi)

Updated: Dec 22, 2022


Ingredients

250 g of pumpkin 1.5 cups of sugar 2 tbsp of milk powder 1 tbsp Butter 1 tbsp of chopped ginger/Ginger preserve

1 tsp of Cardamom powder 1 tsp of vanilla


Method

Butter a tin/pan and keep aside.


Remove seeds wash, peel and cut the pumpkin into small pieces and steam in a steamer till soft. I used my microwave steamer for this.


Add sugar and ginger to the pumpkin and mix. Cook on a low fire.


Bring to the boil and then add butter and milk powder. Add vanilla and keep stirring. When it comes together and leaves the side of the pan, pour into your buttered tin and slice into pieces.



This took me around 45 minutes of stirring and I got 20 pieces. I suggest you increase the amount of pumpkin and put less sugar. Some people don't like ginger so avoid adding it.


NB. I got this recipe from one of my Sri Lanka cookery groups on Facebook but I cannot find the recipe to thank the person who posted it!! many thanks.....



18 views0 comments

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Anchor 1
bottom of page