top of page
  • Writer's pictureManique Abayasekara

Rolex Watch Cake



Items needed

1 Cake 6X6x5

Butter cream icing

Green Fondant

White Fondant

black Fondant

Rolling pin

items for fondant as shown

Corn starch and Crisco butter

1 sheet of edible fondant images of a Rolex watch printed out

a pair of scissors

paint brush

silver dust

1 card board of 6x6x1 for the lid.

2 BBQ sticks/glue


Method

I took a card board and with a paper cutter cut out a square of 6x6x1 inch, then I put an indent at 1 inch and folded a boarder to look like a box cover the corners which I glued down. I then took 2 BBQ sticks and pushed them onto the inner sides and glued them down.

I then took a piece of green fondant and rolled out a piece for the back cover with the rolling pin. I cut 4 pieces of green fondant around 2 inches in width and pasted on the sides. To the inner part I stuck a piece of white fondant which I cut out at 6x6 inches. The fondant can be stuck with a little water on the brush on to the cardboard.


I made a chocolate cake - use a cake pan square/rectangular/round or a Pyrex dish.

So the cake should be 6x6x5

- Since I had only round cake tins on me at this time I baked three cakes and cut them out into 6 inch squares. 2 cakes were 2 inches high and one cake I had to trim down to one inch so that I had a total height of 5 inches.



I then made butter cream icing, crumb coated them and covered with icing on the top and right round the cake.


I rolled out the green fondant to fix around the top of the edge of the box which I rolled out and then flattened which I pasted them next to each other I cut a line for the edges and fixed the next as can be seen on the corners in the 2nd photo below.


I then rolled out some white fondant and flattened out 4 pieces and did the same for the inner boarder.


I rolled out four squares of 6x5 inches each of green fondant to cover the base of the box.

I pasted the rolled out green fondant with a bit of water on the four sides of the box of 6x5 inches each.




Then I put on the lid into the back of the cake




In the mean time I had taken images from the Net of Rolex, the face and logos. I pasted these in a PDF document and sent to the cake shop to be printed on an edible fondant sheet.


I then cut these pictures and stuck them on the inner cover, the outer box and the watch face on the watch I made.


I made the watch with Grey fondant (mixing black and white fondant). I also painted the watch with silver dust and wrapped it in cling film and kept till ready to use. Kept the image of the watch face to see if it fits my circle.

Remember to always cover these tightly with cling film if not they will dry out. as you can see in the 4th picture above the silver dusted watch has cracked near the face when I went to place it on the cushion. So I had to make a new watch with fondant and kept it wrapped on the white fondant raised in the centre which I used as a cushion.


Everything is edible except the lid!!



2 views0 comments

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Anchor 1
bottom of page