top of page
  • Writer's pictureManique Abayasekara

Buckwheat Pancake Pie


ingredients

Pancakes made with Buckwheat (Sarrasin in French)

1 tin Thon in red curry (tin fish)

1 small box Béchamel sauce

tomato sauce

carrots

peppers three colours

spinach

grated Emmental cheese

grated parmesan cheese

salt and pepper

bread crumbs

gratings of butter



Method

I first made the Pancakes - the usual egg, milk, buckwheat flour, sugar and salt. We ad this for breakfast and with the left overs I made this bake.


Then I put the oven to warm at 200°C.



I chopped a few peppers into small cubes and cut strips of carrots. Washed and drained the spinach. I took the tin fish emptied it into a bowl and added a part of the béchamel sauce (you can make your own béchamal/white sauce) and kept a bit for the top. I added tomato sauce.

In a saucepan I put a little oil and fried the carrots and peppers, then added the tin fish and sauces. After mixing all together and tasting it. I added a little béchamel sauce at the bottom of a Pyrex dish. Then topped it with a pancake and then the fish mix and another pancake and fish mix till it reached the top of the dish. I then added the spinach and topped with white sauce, grated cheese, a little bread crumbs and blobs of butter here and there. From the picture below you can see the top view and the side view.



I baked it at  200°C for around 20 minutes or till it got golden brown on top.


NB: If you don't add the bread crumbs and butter you could even eat it without baking it. Since the spinach was salad spinach and no need of cooking it.



1 view0 comments

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Anchor 1
bottom of page