top of page
  • Writer's pictureManique Abayasekara

How to make a truck cake

Items required


5 sheet cakes

made sponge cakes and chocolate cakes

butter cream icing

Coloured fondant

Template for truck

Oreo cookies











Method

I baked 2 sets of sponge cakes coloured 2 blue and kept 2 plain. I also made 1 chocolate cake. I had a total of 5 sheet cakes. I printed out a template of a truck for a rough idea what it should look like. I also made butter cream icing according to this recipe, using the 2nd recipe using 340g butter. This was enough to cover the full truck cake.



I placed the sponge cake iced it and then placed the chocolate cake on top iced it and another sponge cake above it, and covered it with icing



cut the cake in half according to the size of the template and place the bonnet as shown. Then stick altogether with buttercream icing. Then dig out the part for the back of the truck as shown in the drawing below. I crumb coated the whole cake with buttercream icing.



Then take a round cutter and mark where the wheels will be. Roll out the blue fondant and paste on to the buttercream icing. Use your imagination and make lights, mirrors, number plates or what ever your kid would like.


for making of the tyres, I used Oreo cookies and pasted two together with buttercream icing to make it thick. Then I rolled out black fondant and cut a circle and wrapped it around the Oreo cookies. I then took white fondant and pressed a Russian icing nozzle tip on it to get a hub cap shape.



I rolled out more fondant and cut out windows with white fondant and make mud guards with blue fondant.



hand made fondant animals, pig, cow, goat, sheep and duck - panda and elephant face on windscreen.




1 view0 comments

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Anchor 1
bottom of page